To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Kevin De Bruyne Wins 2019/20 PFA Player Of The Year

Josh Lawless

| Last updated 

Kevin De Bruyne Wins 2019/20 PFA Player Of The Year

Kevin De Bruyne has been announced as the PFA Players' Player of the Year.

There was no plush gala this year due to the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak and the need to social distance but not following in the footsteps of France Football's Ballon d'Or decision, the award, voted by fellow players, has still been handed out to the Belgian for his scintillating performances.

Courtesy of a wonderful individual Premier League campaign where he scored 13 goals and registered a record-equalling 20 assists, the Manchester City midfielder pipped Jordan Henderson, who captained Liverpool to their first league title for 30 years.

Image: PA
Image: PA

Trent-Alexander Arnold, Sadio Mane and last year's winner Virgil van Dijk were also on the shortlist after all played starring roles in the historic title triumph from Jurgen Klopp's side.

Raheem Sterling, PFA Young Player of the Year last time out, was in contention after scoring 20 goals in the top flight - the best tally of his career.

Image: PA
Image: PA

Strikers Jamie Vardy, Danny Ings and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang also had strong seasons and led the top scorer charts with 23, 22 and 22 goals respectively.

In July City boss Pep Guardiola had a huge dig at the awards system, having seen a Liverpool player win the award in both of his title-winning seasons at the Etihad Stadium.

"When we won the Premier Leagues it was won by a Liverpool player," Guardiola said prior to the award announcement.

"When they win the Premier League I'm pretty sure they are going to win the player of the season, so this award is always for Liverpool."

Although the 2019/20 was ultimately a disappointing one for him, the City boss will happy to see De Bruyne's achievements rightly commemorated with the prestigious award.

In the other awards, Liverpool's Alexander-Arnold was named PFA Young Player of the Year, with Marcus Rashford collecting a special PFA Merit Award after going above and beyond to help underprivileged young people continue to get free school meals.

Featured Image Credit: Manchester City

Topics: Football News, Football, PFA, Premier League, Jordan Henderson, Kevin de Bruyne

Josh Lawless
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Why referee used a circular red card during Wrexham vs Sheffield United match

an hour ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Brighton score late winner to dump Liverpool out of the FA Cup

7 hours ago