To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Lionel Messi welcomed into ‘Triple Crown’ club that only has nine players

Marcus Chan

| Last updated 

Lionel Messi welcomed into ‘Triple Crown’ club that only has nine players

Lionel Messi was welcomed into the ‘Triple Crown’ club by Brazil legend Kaka after inspiring Argentina to World Cup glory in Qatar.

Paris Saint Germain superstar Messi was at his sensational best as he produced a string of stellar performances to lead his country to World Cup glory.

During the final, Argentina held their nerves to beat France 4-2 in a tense penalty shootout.

As Messi got his hands on football’s most prestigious trophy, it allowed him passage to the exclusive ‘Triple Crown’ club, which has only nine players.



The ‘Triple Crown’ club members have all won the World Cup, the Champions League and at least one Ballon d’Or.

As Messi has already won both the Champions League and Ballon d’Or he has now completed the set after victory in Qatar.

Brazil legend Kaka welcomed Messi into the club by posting a picture on his Instagram story, with a caption that read: “Welcome to the club, Leo Messi.”


Other members of the ‘Triple Crown’ club include Sir Bobby Charlton, who won the World Cup with England in 1966, the 1968 European Cup with Manchester United and the 1966 Ballon d’Or.

Germany great Franz Beckenbauer was a World Cup winner in 1974, whilst winning three European Cups with Bayern Munich and was named Ballon d’Or winner in 1972 and 1976.

Fellow German legend Gerd Muller is also in the club, having also won the World Cup in 1974. He also won European Cups in a row from 1974 to 1976 and the Ballon d’Or in 1970.

Image Credit: Instagram@kaka
Image Credit: [email protected]

Paolo Rossi is the only Italian representative after getting his hands on the 1982 World Cup, the 1985 European Cup and the Ballon d’Or in 1982.

Frenchman Zinedine Zidane is another member of the club having won the 1998 World Cup, the Champions League in 2002 and the Ballon d’Or in 1998.

Brazil trio Ronaldinho, Rivaldo and Kaka are all members of the club as they won the 2002 World Cup and have multiple Champions Leagues and Ballon d’Ors to their name.

Is Messi the greatest footballer of all time? Let us know in the comments.

Featured Image Credit: Alamy/[email protected]

Topics: Lionel Messi, Argentina, Football World Cup, Football, Kaka, Brazil, Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Zinedine Zidane

Marcus Chan
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Declan Rice 'has his heart set on move to Arsenal' but West Ham want player included in deal

2 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

WWE superstar John Cena spotted working out at gym in Liverpool, everybody was starstruck

4 hours ago