To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Paraguayan Team Claim The Puskas Award Is Already Won

| Last updated 

Paraguayan Team Claim The Puskas Award Is Already Won

Cerro Porteño, a club in the Paraguayan Primera División, has made an audacious claim on social media, after their 2-0 win over Sportivo Luqueño.

In a post on Twitter, the club says that the Puskas Award 2018 has already been won by one of their players, Hernán Novick.

The Puskas Award was established in 2009 and highlights the best goals in football of a particular year, usually not taking much heed to level or country of the goal scored.

Zlatan with the Puskas Award after that strike for Sweden against England in 2013. Image: PA Images
Zlatan with the Puskas Award after that strike for Sweden against England in 2013. Image: PA Images

Now Cerro Porteño has made a huge claim to this year's award and even shared a video on social media of their Novick's majestic goal, with the words accompanying it roughly translated as: "Gentlemen @FIFAcom look no further, we present the Puskas 2018 Award."

In the footage, the Uruguayan midfielder is seen charging up the pitch with his side on the counter-attack. At first, he digs his heels in and wins a fifty-fifty challenge, which then allows the ball to go down the right flank to his teammate.

This is when the real magic happens: his teammate on the right of the box, being chased to the goalline by a defender, seemingly out of nowhere lays a lovely backheel back into the path of Novick, who then brilliantly nutmegs a defender on the turn, before neatly curling the ball past the keeper to double his side's lead. Wowzah.

The skill and the moment that he rounds the defender has an almost Bergkamp vs Newcastle feel to it with his quick thinking and always being one second ahead even though he has to take the long way round to get a shot on goal.

The Puskas Award has seen some breathtaking goals over the years, and there's no doubt that this one is a certain contender for this year's award.

It may come as no surprise to learn that Lionel Messi, Neymar and Zlatan Ibrahimovic are joint in the record for having the most nominations of the Puskas Awards, with five each.

The last time there was a World Cup James Rodriguez won the award with his strike in the last 16 against Uruguay for Colombia.

With such a long way to go in the year yet, and with the World Cup upcoming in the summer, winning this award will take some doing, but we wish Novick all the best.

Do you think anything can be the strike from Paraguay?

Words by Jacque Talbot

Topics: Football News, Paraguay

More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Marcus Rashford tells heartbreaking story of friend's death was the reason for his celebration

2 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrated as if he had given Portugal the lead, but stadium announcer gave Bruno Fernandes the goal

a day ago