To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Galatasaray Concede 105th Minute Equaliser In Crazy Injury Time Incident

Ryan Sidle

| Last updated 

Galatasaray Concede 105th Minute Equaliser In Crazy Injury Time Incident

Galatasaray dropped two points on Sunday night against Gaziantep after conceding a penalty in the 15th minute of injury time, after six minutes were originally added.

The Turkish champion's chances of retaining their Super Lig title were already very slim heading into their game with Gaziantep on the weekend.

They looked to at least be headed for a win in Istanbul when they led 3-2 going into six minutes of injury time. The visitors though looked to have equalised in the third minute of six added on minutes, through Olarenwaju Kayode's overhead kick, only for the goal to be ruled out by VAR.

The time it took to sort out the disallowed goal led to further time being added on. Gala then conceded a 101st minute indirect free kick in the box thanks to goalkeeper Okan Kocuk's time wasting, and he'd already been booked for a similar infringement, from which the defence conceded a penalty which Gaziantep scored from in the 105th minute.

Former Chelsea signing Papy Djilobodji, who played a minute of football for the Blues as an injury time substitution in a League Cup game, put the visitors ahead in the 17th minute.

The Champions equalised through their own former Blues' player, Radamel Falcao, in the 36th minute and were ahead before the break when Younes Belhanda scored.

They were reduced to 10 men when Ahmet Calik was sent off in the 56th minute but just 10 minutes later seemed to have wrapped up the win when Sofiane Feghouli made it 3-1.

Patrick Twumasi made the game interesting in the 78th minute but Galatasaray looked to have held on before the crazy injury time led to them dropping two points.


The draw follows their loss last weekend to Rizespor, in their first game back since the break for Covid-19, and leaves them eight points off top place Istanbul Basaksehir.

Only five clubs have ever won the Turkish Super Lig, with Bursaspor and Trabzonspor the only two teams ever to have broken the hold of the traditional big three of Gala, Fenerbahce and Besiktas.

The three giants are well off the pace this season with Besiktas four points, and one place, behind Galatasaray in fifth and Fenerbahce even further back in seventh.

It's looks like either Basaksehir will win their first ever title or Trabzonspor will add their first since 1984, which ended a run of six titles in nine years.

Topics: Football News, fenerbahce, Galatasaray, Turkish Football, Turkey, Besiktas, Radamel Falcao, Penalty

Ryan Sidle
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


The time Trent Alexander-Arnold perfectly settled training ground argument with Jesse Lingard

3 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Erling Haaland is 'earning close to £900,000 per WEEK at Manchester City'

a day ago