To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

Seven countries that have been banned from playing in the FIFA World Cup

Marcus Chan

| Last updated 

Seven countries that have been banned from playing in the FIFA World Cup

Only seven countries have been banned from participating in the FIFA World Cup in the history of the game.

During the 2022 edition in Qatar, Lionel Messi reached the pinnacle of football after he inspired Argentine to World Cup glory.

In what was a pulsating final Argentina and France drew 3-3 after 120 minutes, with the South Americans winning 4-2 via a tense penalty shootout.



Here are the seven teams that have been banned from the World Cup.

Germany and Japan - 1950 World Cup

After the 1942 and 1946 editions of the World Cup were cancelled due to World War II, the tournament returned in 1950.

But Germany and Japan were not allowed to be involved due to the result of the second World War.


Uruguay were the winners, with Brazil second, Sweden third and Spain fourth.

South Africa - 1970 - 1990 World Cup

During the apartheid in South Africa, they were faced with multiple international boycotts. FIFA had suspended them in 1963, and eventually expelled in 1976.

South Africa are the last African country to host the tournament, having hosted the 2010 edition.


Mexico - 1990 World Cup

Mexico were banned for two years by FIFA after they fielded four players that were above the age limit.

The incident happened during the qualifying round of the world junior tournament.

The 1990 World Cup was won by West Germany, having they beat Argentina in the final. Italy and England were third and fourth respectively.

Image Credit: Getty
Image Credit: Getty

Chile - 1994 World Cup

Chilean keeper Roberto Rojas pretended to be hurt by a flare thrown by a fan during his country’s clash against Brazil in 1989.

In truth, he used a hidden blade in his glove to cut himself, as a result, FIFA banned Chile from the 1994 tournament. Rojas was banned for life.


Myanmar - 2006 World Cup

Myanmar pulled out of a qualifying match for the 2002 World Cup which was scheduled to be played in Iran.

They were fined 23,500 dollars by FIFA and were banned from the 2006 edition of the tournament, which was held in Germany.

Russia - 2022 World Cup

After their invasion of Ukraine, they were condemned by many countries around the globe.

FIFA decided the Russia football team were to be banned from participating in the Qatar World Cup.

SPORTbible are on WhatsApp! We've launched a dedicated news channel to send you the latest news, features and plenty more directly on WhatsApp and all you need to do to sign up is click through to our one-way broadcast channel here for 'SPORTbible News' to appear in the 'Updates' tab on your WhatsApp.

Featured Image Credit: Getty

Topics: Football World Cup, Football, FIFA

Marcus Chan
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Erik ten Hag reveals Manchester United's January transfer plans in new interview, fans won't be impressed

30 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

What Erik ten Hag has done following the media leaks shows his resilience

a day ago