Top 30 Players With The Most Man Of The Match Awards This Season Ranked

| Last updated 

Top 30 Players With The Most Man Of The Match Awards This Season Ranked

The players in Europe's top five leagues with the most man of the match awards this season have been ranked - and one player has a tremendous lead over everyone else.

Despite being top scorer in Serie A with 23 goals, Cristiano Ronaldo has only five individual MotM awards in 2020/21.

That puts him a massive 11 behind his eternal rival, Lionel Messi, who tops the list with an astonishing 16 man of the match awards for Barcelona. No surprise, as he's top scorer in La Liga with 21 goals, boasts seven assists and should have many more if his teammates had their shootings boots on.


Messi, who's found his best form in 2021, has a healthy lead over the player in second place.

Tottenham striker Harry Kane has 10 MotM awards for a Premier League campaign in which he's racked up 16 goals, plus a remarkable 13 assists. Kane surprisingly has double the MotM total of Manchester United's Bruno Fernandes, who has 26 goal contributions.

Kane and Messi are the only players in double figures for awards, but Give Me Sport separate the players who are level by their WhoScored rating for the season.


Valencia's Gerard Moreno is out on his own in third (nine awards), but it's amazing to see the almost 40-year-old Zlatan Ibrahimovic up there with seven MotM gongs this season for his efforts with AC Milan.

That said, there are notable absences. Inter's in-form Romelu Lukaku, Paris Saint-Germain ace Kylian Mbappe and Borussia Dortmund's red-hot striker Erling Haaland are all curiously unlisted (though PSG and Borussia have had their struggles in the league this season).

Check out the full top 30 below and let us know if any placings - or absences - surprise you.


30. Tino Kadewere (5 awards)

29. Alexander Isak (5 awards)

28. Pedro Neto (5 awards)

27. Teji Savanier (5 awards)


26. Romain Faivre (5 awards)

25. Wout Weghorst (5 awards)

24. Angel Di Maria (5 awards)

23. Benjamin Andre (5 awards)


22. Tomas Soucek (5 awards)

21. Sadio Mane (5 awards)

20. Karl Toko Ekambi (5 awards)

19. Bruno Fernandes (5 awards)

18. Cristiano Ronaldo (5 awards)

17. Nick Pope (6 awards)

16. Ludovic Blas (6 awards)

15. Lorenzo Pellegrini (6 awards)

14. Sergej Milinkovic-Savic (6 awards)

13. Iago Aspas (6 awards)

11. Andre Silva (6 awards)

10. Karim Benzema (6 awards)

9. Kevin De Bruyne (6 awards)

8. Andy Delort (6 awards)

7. Rodrigo de Paul (7 awards)

6. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (7 awards)

5. Lorenzo Insigne (8 awards)

4. Robert Lewandowski (8 awards)

3. Gerard Moreno (9 awards)

2. Harry Kane (10 awards)

1. Lionel Messi (16 awards)

All imagery: PA Images

Topics: Serie A, Ligue 1, Premier League, La Liga

Alex Reid
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Ralf Rangnick Gives Incredibly Honest Interview After Manchester United Draw 1-1 With Young Boys

an hour ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read


Robbie Savage's Emotional Introduction Of His Son, Charlie, On Man Utd Debut Will Give You Goosebumps

2 hours ago