Florentino Perez Says Karim Benzema Deserves To Win This Year's Ballon d'Or
Benzema netted his 20th and 21st goals of the season last night as Madrid defeated Villarreal 2-1 to seal their 34th La Liga title.
The Frenchman has been the focal point of Zinedine Zidane's attack this season following injury to summer signing Eden Hazard and the lack of play time for Gareth Bale.
Following the title victory, Perez spoke to Spanish media and heaped praise on the 32-year-old.
"Benzema should be the Ballon d'Or," he bluntly stated per Daily Mail.
"I have not seen any player have as good a year as him."
Benzema is currently just two goals behind Lionel Messi in the Golden Boot race with one game remaining.
La Liga: :trophy::trophy::trophy:
Copa del Rey: :trophy::trophy:
Spanish Cup: :trophy::trophy:
Champions League: :trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy:
UEFA Super Cup: :trophy::trophy::trophy:
Club World Cup: :trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy:
Karim Benzema has won 18 trophies in the colours of Real Madrid. :white_circle: pic.twitter.com/mPJOGLiZC3
- Football Tweet (@Football__Tweet) July 16, 2020
More Like ThisMore Like This
Zidane also addressed the media and showered his side with praise.
"Winning La Liga is the best," the French coach admitted. "Champions League is Champions League but this is 38 games. What these players have achieved since the season restarted is incredible."
Madrid have won an incredible ten games in row en route to the league title while Barcelona have slipped up since football's restart.
Benzema opened the scoring inside half an hour last night before netting a penalty in the second half.
The penalty did come with controversy however as Ramos originally tried his hand at the Johan Cruyff technique with the Frenchman.
Sergio Ramos lays his penalty off for Karim Benzema, but it's ruled out for encroachment! :x:
Benzema eventually took the penalty second time around, and drilled it into the bottom corner to surely clinch the title for Madrid :trophy:
You don't see that too often! :eyes: pic.twitter.com/f9TMw6slBB
- Premier Sports :tv: (@PremierSportsTV) July 16, 2020
Instead of smashing the spot-kick or even attempting a Panenka, the Spaniard touched the ball forward to Benzema who slotted home his second goal of the game.
However, the Real No.9 had actually encroached into the area too early and the penalty had to be retaken, with Benzema then converted.
Do you think Karim Benzema has a chance of winning the Ballon d'Or?
Let us know in the comments below.
Featured Image Credit: PA Images
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read