Luis Suarez Bizarrely "Appeals For Handball" Against Villarreal Goalkeeper In The Penalty Area
Luis Suarez could've attempted to get goalkeeper Sergio Asenjo sent off for handling inside his own area during Atletico Madrid vs Villarreal.
Suarez made his first home start for Atletico in the game and it ended up being an uninspiring 0-0 on Saturday.
But the big talking point coming out of the game was the 33-year-old attempting to win a penalty in the strangest fashion.
Renan Lodi whipped a cross in which Asenjo tipped behind legally - but that didn't stop Suarez raising his arm and gesturing.
#atleticovillarreal Luís Suárez lo ha vuelto a hacer, pide penalti del porteo por tocar el balón con la mano en su propia área...:joy::joy::joy: pic.twitter.com/25Sh3W6qlX
- Jalo (@jaloarias) October 3, 2020
Fans have reacted to Suarez's actions and while he could just be asking for the corner, many wouldn't be shocked if it was a penalty appeal.
Here's Luis Suarez appealing for a handball... by the goalkeeper pic.twitter.com/Gu6QvQebvR
- Spennie 19 Times :trophy: (@unrealxherdan) October 3, 2020
LOL, Luis Suárez at his finest.
- Jahiel Domínguez (@jahiel_amd) October 3, 2020
Suárez tried to claim handball off a keeper again:sob:
- Sixty Chaps' Advocate (@borgixprxdeli) October 3, 2020
More Like ThisMore Like This
True seriously ppl were cursing us for not continuing with a 34 yr Suarez who says handball when the GK is saving the ball with his hands :joy_cat:in his box https://t.co/ktzo8MPX7e
- CuléForever(ON A BREAK) (@cule_ash) October 3, 2020
SUAREZ AGAIN CLAIMED HANDBALL ON THE GOALKEEPER LMAO
- Vivek (@hermitCule) October 3, 2020
It isn't the first time Suarez has tried to fool the referee if he indeed wanted a spot kick.
Earlier this year, the former Liverpool man represented his country against Chile in Copa America qualification.
Suarez attempted to cut the ball back to strike partner Edinson Cavani and La Roja's No.1 Gabriel Arias intervened with his hand.
The ball went out for a corner but Suarez wanted more than that. Straight away he slapped his hand and screamed for a penalty and unsurprisingly, the claim fell on deaf ears.
Only Luis Suárez would call for a handball inside the box because it hit the hand of the opposing goalkeeper!#CopaAmerica pic.twitter.com/iPOxMW1Z54
- Premier Sports :tv: (@PremierSportsTV) June 24, 2019
Suarez joined Atletico from Barcelona earlier this summer and scored twice on his debut last week, a 6-1 win over Granada.
But his home debut wasn't as fruitful and he was withdrawn in the 70th minute for Diego Costa.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read