Everton's Penalty Vs Liverpool Was 'Correct' And Trent Alexander-Arnold 'Should've Been Sent Off'
The decision to give Everton a penalty vs Liverpool has been labelled as 'correct' - but Trent Alexander-Arnold 'should've been sent off'.
Everton ran out 2-0 winners at Anfield on Saturday evening and their second came after Dominic Calvert-Lewin tripped over Alexander-Arnold when through on goal.
Referee Chris Kavanagh pointed to the spot and many believed the decision was harsh, since Alexander Arnold couldn't see Calvert-Lewin.
But ESPN's Dale Johnson has revealed Kavanagh was technically correct.
"I'm not sure what he's supposed to do!?"- Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) February 20, 2021
Dominic Calvert-Lewin runs over Trent Alexander-Arnold and Chris Kavanagh awards Everton a penalty! :eyes:
:tv: Watch on Sky Sports PL
:iphone: Follow #LIVEVE here: https://t.co/00t4xX1RCR
:calling: Download the @SkySports app! pic.twitter.com/Lb3qsNDv2o
"The penalty to Everton was the correct decision - remember intent was taken out of the Laws of the Game," Johnson stated on Twitter.
"However, as with David Luiz vs. Wolves, Trent Alexander-Arnold should have been sent off as a clear goal-scoring opportunity was denied for Dominic Calvert-Lewin.
"VAR review was to overturn the penalty, not for a red card. Chris Kavanagh obviously very confident in his decision, with the review being so quick.
"But the VAR, Andre Marriner, should have been advising DOGSO red once the referee said he was sticking with the penalty."
Gylfi Sigurdsson stepped up to double Everton's lead after Richarlison had put them in front inside three minutes.
More Like ThisMore Like This
Reds players were furious with the decision as was manager Jurgen Klopp.
IFAB's official rules read: "Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offending player is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball; in all other circumstances (e.g. holding, pulling, pushing, no possibility to play the ball etc.) the offending player must be sent off."
Klopp spoke to the Liverpool Echo post-match and couldn't hide his feelings on the second half drama.
"I really think it is unfair to ask me because everybody asks me that question, so it means everybody thinks it was not a penalty," he begun.
"But that is not really important because the referee thought it was a penalty.
"So I wanted to talk to him after the first few interviews I had but he left already.
"I just wanted to ask what did he see because when the VAR calls you over to the sideline then I think he is in doubt about the decision.
"But he needed only a second [to decide]. So he went there, had a look and give a penalty, so he obviously saw something other people didn't see.
"I haven't seen it back yet but everyone who speaks to me tells me the same. How can it be a penalty? So..."
Featured Image Credit: Sky Sports
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read