| Last updated
It's a sight rarer than a hen's teeth but during Leicester City's visit to Manchester City this afternoon, Riyad Mahrez has seen a penalty disallowed after he accidentally took two touches to put the ball in the back of the net.
Mahrez stepped up to take the spot kick that would bring the Foxes level at 2-2, having been 2-0 down, when he seemingly converted the penalty without an issue.
However, the Algerian winger's celebrations were short lived as referee Bobby Madley correctly adjudged Mahrez to have taken two touches as he slipped taking the kick.
Riyad Mahrez slips taking the penalty and hits his standing foot. Ruled out for two touches. pic.twitter.com/DmnbXbkpuT- Goals (@PremHighlightz) May 13, 2017
It was a scene reminiscent of Wednesday night, when Antoine Griezmann successfully converted a penalty during Atletico Madrid's 2-1 victory over Real Madrid in their Champions League semi-final second leg. However, like Mahrez's effort today, the Frenchman's spot kick should not have stood as he too made contact with the ball twice before it entered the net.
:camera_with_flash: Mahrez slips as he takes the penalty, kicking the ball onto his standing foot before it goes in & is ruled out. It's 2-1 (84 mins) #MCILEI pic.twitter.com/TRHOdoMMgK
- Premier League (@premierleague) May 13, 2017
Given the wording of the law the referee is correct to disallow Mahrez's penalty but clearly not what the law was written for. #pedant
- Gary Lineker (@GaryLineker) May 13, 2017
76. WOW! Mahrez's penalty chalked off after the Leicester man touched the ball twice! Spot from the ref that!
- Manchester City (@ManCity) May 13, 2017
Bobby Madley deserves a lot of credit for noticing the extra touch, as it's often an occurrence that goes unnoticed by match officials.
It's going to be a long time before we see a penalty miss as strange as this one.
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read