To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

The Teams Are Out For Women's State Of Origin

Mike Wood

| Last updated 

The Teams Are Out For Women's State Of Origin

Both sides have announced their squads ahead of the 2021 Women's State of Origin, with Queensland naming five debutants as they made their bid to hold onto the Shield that they won last October.

Destiny Brill and Tiana Raftstrand-Smith are the big stories: Brill will take over from Aussie international Brittany Brealey in the hooking role, while Raftstrand-Smith was named as the leading player in the National Championships in May, the premier pathway tournament in women's rugby league.

The Maroons will have most of their big guns on deck, including Tamika Upton, who scored a wonder try in last year's fixture, Tarryn Aiken, who was named Player of the Match in 2020, and Ali Brigginshaw, reigning Female Player of the Year.

Queensland won last year, but it was their first victory since 2014. The New South Wales team travelling to the Sunshine Coast to wrest back the Shield might be their most star-studded ever, with the likes of Kezie Apps, Jess Sergis, Isabelle Kelly and Simaima Taufa all standing out.


The most anticipated debutant of the two Blues will be Kennedy Cherrington, the Roosters lock who was named last year but failed to make the final 17. The NRLW Rookie of the Year will be joined by Keeley Davis, who cruelly missed out in 2020 after a game day injury but will, barring a similar disaster, start in the 9 next Friday night.


  1. Tamika Upton
  2. Shenae Ciesiolka
  3. Lauren Brown
  4. Julia Robinson
  5. Karina Brown
  6. Tarryn Aiken
  7. Zahara Temara
  8. Chelsea Lenarduzzi
  9. Destiny Brill
  10. Shannon Mato
  11. Tazmin Gray
  12. Tiana Raftstrand-Smith
  13. Ali Brigginshaw (c)
  14. Romy Teitzel
  15. Natassja Purontakanen
  16. Shaniah Power
  17. Brianna Clark

  18. Tallisha Harden
  19. Rona Peters

New South Wales


1. Botille Vette-Welsh
2. Yasmin Meakes
3. Jess Sergis
4. Isabelle Kelly
5. Tiana Penitani
6. Corban Baxter
7. Maddie Studdon
8. Simaima Taufa
9. Keeley Davis
10. Millie Boyle
11. Kezie Apps (c)
12. Sarah Togatuki
13. Hannah Southwell

14. Quincy Dodd
15. Filomina Hanisi
16. Kennedy Cherrington
17. Holli Wheeler

18. Brydie Parker
19. Renee Targett

Topics: nrl, NRLW

Mike Wood
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Liverpool fans all saying the same thing as Saudi Pro League 'plan to recruit top Premier League refs'

35 minutes ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Newcastle fans accuse former Sunderland player Don Goodman of 'fixing' Carabao Cup draw

5 hours ago