To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Brad Fittler Names His NSW Squad For State Of Origin Game 1

Brad Fittler Names His NSW Squad For State Of Origin Game 1

There's plenty of Penrith Panthers players in the mix.

Max Sherry

Max Sherry

With State of Origin Game 1 just over a week away, Brad Fittler has named his New South Wales squad set to take on Queensland - and there's plenty of Penrith Panthers players in the mix.

Head coach Fittler has selected a whopping six Panthers stars with Brian To'o, Jarome Luai, Liam Martin and Api Koroisau all set to make their Origin debuts.

Penrith duo Nathan Cleary and Isaah Yeo were also picked for the Blues.

There was plenty of talking points heading into the squad announcement, including which player will captain the side as well as what halves pairing Fittler would go with.

It has been confirmed that fullback James Tedesco will take over from his Sydney Roosters teammate Boyd Cordner as New South Wales skipper.


As for the halves pairing, Fittler has opted for in-form Penrith pair Luai and Cleary - a duo that has guided the undefeated Panthers to the summit of the NRL ladder.

There was question marks prior to the announcement as to which position Tom Trbojevic would play, with some suggesting the Manly gun is actually a better option at fullback than Blues stalwart Tedesco.

But it seems Fittler is sticking with his main man Teddy, opting to slot Turbo in the centres.


The other talking point was whether the Blues would have enough reinforcements to cover for suspended Roosters duo Victor Radley and Angus Crichton, but Fittler is confident he has picked a team worthy of winning the all-important Game 1.

"I'm really happy with the squad we've announced to face the Maroons for the opening game of the series," Fittler said.

"We've got a good mix of players from in-form teams and players who have worn the NSW Blues jumper with distinction in the past and never let their state down.

"I'm looking forward to working with all the players in camp and I'm confident our preparation will stand us in good stead to try and win back the Origin shield."

Check out the New South Wales squad for State of Origin Game 1 below...

1. James Tedesco (c)

2. Brian To'o

3. Latrell Mitchell

4. Tom Trbojevic

5. Josh Addo-Carr

6. Jarome Luai

7. Nathan Cleary

8. Daniel Saifiti

9. Damien Cook

10. Jake Trbojevic

11. Cameron Murray

12. Tariq Sims

13. Isaah Yeo

14. Jack Wighton

15. Junior Paulo

16. Payne Haas

17. Liam Martin

18. Api Koroisau

19. Campbell Graham

Featured Image Credit: Instagram/@nswblues

Topics: Rugby League, nrl, Australia