Nick Kyrgios Shockingly Admitted He Tried To Hit Rafael Nadal ‘Square In The Chest’ At Wimbledon

An unapologetic Nick Kyrgios made a shocking confession that he intentionally tried to hit Rafael Nadal during their Wimbledon clash.

The Australian, 24, intensified his rivalry with Nadal and claimed that he was trying to hit him "square in the chest" with the ball.

But Kyrgios showed little regret for his actions on the court and refused to apology for his behaviour.

"Yeah, I was going for him," he said. "Yeah, I wanted to hit him square in the chest. Like, he's got decent hands.

"I didn't hit him. Hit his racquet, no? Why would I apologise? I won the point.

"I don't care. Why would I apologise? I mean, the dude has got how many slams, how much money in the bank account?

"I think he can take a ball to the chest, bro. I'm not going to apologise to him at all."

Kyrgios was at the centre of controversy on Thursday evening as he even tried to hit the 18-time Grand Slam winner's racquet on one attempt in the third set.

And the Aussie even had a row with the umpire when he called him a "disgrace."

But Nadal, 33, took home the bragging rights in their heated rivalry as he knocked him out of the second round after winning 6-3 3-6 7-6 (7-5) 7-6 (7-3).

The tennis superstar spoke openly about the integrity of the sport and slammed Kyrgios' behaviour on the court.

"The history of this sport is about respect and is about playing fair during the whole time," he said.

Credit: PA
Credit: PA

Credit: PA
Credit: PA

"I don't say Nick does this stuff to bother the opponent, but is true that sometimes he's dangerous.

"When he hit the ball like this, [it] is dangerous. It is not dangerous for me, is dangerous for a line referee, dangerous for a crowd.

"When you hit the ball like this, you don't know where the ball goes.

"I know when you hit this kind of ball, the ball can go anywhere. This time the ball went in, almost hit me, no problem. I am professional, so I know how to avoid this.

"But another one, the ball goes straight to the back. So have been dangerous moment for the line umpire. That ball hits an eye or something like this, is a problem."

Thoughts on the match?

Let us know in the comments.

Featured Image Credit: BBCTennis

Adnan Riaz

Adnan Riaz is a journalist for SPORTbible. He studied for a B.A. in History at the University of York and followed it up with an M.A. in Multimedia Journalism at MMU. Before he started writing about sports, he spent over four years in the gaming press. He has worked for several publications, including Hardcore Gamer, LADbible and the Manchester Evening News. Follow him on Twitter to find out what he is working on next. Got a story tip for Adnan? Email him: [email protected]

Next Up

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up camera clock comment cursor facebook-messenger facebook Instagram link new-window play share snapchat submit twitter vine whatsapp ODDSbible