Irish Rugby Player Gets Sent Off After Tackle Flips Opponent

Former Ireland and current Brive player Stuart Oldig earned himself a red card after a shocking challenge on Guillaume Laforgue during Brive's game with Soyaux Angoulême on the weekend.

You've got to be pretty tough to be a rugby player, I did not make it in school rugby for many reasons and not being all that tough was definitely one of them. My best memory of playing the 15 man game at school was someone shouting "let's get the skinny b*stard" when I went to catch the ball and run towards the defence and my mate taking offence on my behalf and shoving me into them as I ran into the tackle, thus dislodging the ball - cheers Az.

Anyway that's very much besides the point, other than the fact I couldn't have kept my own head if I'd been on the end of Brive's Stuart Oldig's high tackled from the weekend.

The centre got his marching orders during the ProD2 game between his team and Soyaux Angoulême when he managed to flip Soyaux Angoulême in midair and fail to put him down safely.

The sending off didn't actually affect his side too much as the French side still went on to win 31-18 with the result taking them second in the ProD2 table.

Oldig was playing for Ulster last season but had his contract after a review following the Belfast rape trial in March.

The 25 year old has had a good start to life in France and won the club's Player of the Month award back in August.

Samoa Rugby 7s Make Stupidest Rugby Mistake Possible

Sport isn't always to understand. Sure most of us get the offside rule but every now and again it gets slightly changed and everyone loses their shit and it takes three years for us to understand it again.

Cricket isn't easy to explain to people and there's the famous explanation to a foreigner about the men who are in going out until they're out and then they go in.

See even he doesn't know what's going on in the scrum. Image: PA Images
See even he doesn't know what's going on in the scrum. Image: PA Images

Even rugby fans spend half of their time trying to work out why a penalty was given in the game and they can't begin to explain half the decisions to a non rugby fan.

However one rugby rule that is pretty simple to understand is that you can't pass the ball forward, let go of the ball and it's got to go behind you or to the side. Everyone knows that, right?

Well one Samoan rugby 7s player managed to forget that in the London 7s at the worst moment, when he'd already gone past the try line:

It's almost like the passer completely forgets which way round forward and backwards are just because he's turned round to see where his teammate is.

The waiting for him as well, it's all so painful. The receiver maybe should have stopped and realised what his colleague was waiting for but seriously why is anyone throwing that pass.

Ryan Sidle

Ryan is a writer for SPORTbible. He covers all sport from football, formula one, cricket, rugby, tennis, athletics, mma and wrestling. He obviously hates YOUR football team and has no interest in synchronised swimming.

Next Up

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up camera clock comment cursor facebook-messenger facebook Instagram link new-window play share snapchat submit twitter vine whatsapp ODDSbible