Virgil Van Dijk Reportedly Beats Raheem Sterling To PFA Player Of The Year Award

Virgil van Dijk is set to beat Raheem Sterling to the PFA Player's Player of the Year Award according to reports in the British media.

There's no doubt that in the past year and a half Virgil van Dijk has helped completely transform the Liverpool defence. Before the Dutchman became the most expensive defender in the world in his move from Southampton the Reds defence was extremely leaky.

18 months on and the Reds are well in the title race because they've conceded the least goals in the Premier League this season, seeing just 20 goals scored in 35 games.

That change in the team and his own personal performance have led to a lot of plaudits coming the former Celtic defender's way, and understandably so.

With the Premier League title race coming down to Liverpool and current champions Manchester City many have been calling for Van Dijk to be named the Player of the Year.

According to the Daily Mail that is due to happen with Van Dijk set to be named the PFA Player's Player of the Year on Thursday, beating City's Raheem Sterling.

Van Dijk has made a massive difference to Liverpool this season. Image: PA Images
Van Dijk has made a massive difference to Liverpool this season. Image: PA Images

Van Dijk and Sterling were joined by Sadio Mane, Sergio Aguero, Bernardo Silva and Eden Hazard on the list of nominees last week.

The official announcement won't be until Thursday with the PFA Awards ceremony taking place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Sunday evening.

A win for the Liverpool defender will mean that the Reds will have 'defended' the award having seen Mo Salah win it last year and it'll be the third time in six years one of their players will have won, following Luis Suarez's 2014 win.

Van Dijk will be the first defender to win the award since John Terry was voted by his fellow professionals in 2005.

Salah with his Player of the Year award. Image: PA Images
Salah with his Player of the Year award. Image: PA Images

Liverpool fans might be really happy with the award but if history is anything to go by it won't actually be good news.

On the previous two occasions Reds players have picked up the award the Premier League title has gone to the Etihad.

The Football Writers' Association Awards will also be handed out later in the season and Van Dijk and Sterling will likely duke it out for that title too.

Who's been your player of the year?

Ryan Sidle

Ryan is a writer for SPORTbible. He covers all sport from football, formula one, cricket, rugby, tennis, athletics, mma and wrestling. He obviously hates YOUR football team and has no interest in synchronised swimming.

Next Up

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up camera clock comment cursor facebook-messenger facebook Instagram link new-window play share snapchat submit twitter vine whatsapp ODDSbible