Napoli Goalkeeper Alex Meret Sent Off After Cristiano Ronaldo Dived In Challenge

Cristiano Ronaldo has been placed at the centre of controversy after he apparently dived against Napoli.

The Juventus ace pounced on Kévin Malcuit's poor back pass to Alex Meret, in which the Napoli 'keeper charged out of the box to clear the ball.

Meret failed to touch Ronaldo in the challenge, but he received a straight red from the referee.

Check it out below.

Carlo Ancelotti was forced to bring on David Ospina as a substitute, but the 30-year-old Colombian shot-stopper couldn't stop Miralem Pjanić from scoring in the resulting free-kick.

Massimiliano Allegri's men took complete control of the first half after Emre Can doubled their lead at the San Paolo.

Was it a dive from Ronaldo?

Let us know in the comments.

Featured Image Credit: Premier Sports

Adnan Riaz

Adnan Riaz is a journalist for SPORTbible. He studied for a B.A. in History at the University of York and followed it up with an M.A. in Multimedia Journalism at MMU. Before he started writing about sports, he spent over four years in the gaming press. He has worked for several publications, including Hardcore Gamer, LADbible and the Manchester Evening News. Follow him on Twitter to find out what he is working on next. Got a story tip for Adnan? Email him: [email protected]

Next Up

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up camera clock comment cursor facebook-messenger facebook Instagram link new-window play share snapchat submit twitter vine whatsapp ODDSbible