Lionel Messi Gave 'Lucky' Red Ribbon To Paulo Dybala Ahead Of Scoring First Goal For Argentina

Paulo Dybala praised Lionel Messi for the lucky charm that he handed to him ahead of scoring his first competitive goal for Argentina.

The Juventus star, 25, featured in Argentina's third-placed playoff match against Chile in the Copa América and doubled his side's lead before half-time.

And a beaming Dybala spoke about the red ribbon that the Argentina captain had handed to him before the match.

"Messi gave me the red ribbon before the game to give me luck and I ended up scoring my first competitive goal for Argentina, so it worked," the Argentine international told reporters.

It's not the first time that Messi, 32, has performed such a classy move to support one of his teammates.

The Barcelona superstar did the same for club teammate Philippe Coutinho when he handed the Brazilian star his lucky World Cup ribbon last season.

Credit: PA
Credit: PA

Credit: PA
Credit: PA

Lionel Scaloni's men might have secured a 2-1 victory over Chile at the Arena Corinthians, but Messi was at the centre of controversy.

The five-time Ballon d'Or winner was involved in a first-half incident with Chile captain Gary Medel, with the two men getting into a heated confrontation.

The referee dismissed both Messi and Medel, but a slow-motion close-up replay showed that the red card might have been harsh against the Barcelona talisman.

Messi blasted the Copa América as he labelled it as "corrupt" and said that the "cup's fixed for Brazil."

He added: "We don't have to be part of this corruption.

Credit: PA
Credit: PA

"They have showed us a lack of respect throughout this tournament.

"Sadly, the corruption, the referees, they don't allow people to enjoy football, they ruined it a bit."

But South America's ruling body, CONMEBOL, fired back at the Argentina captain's remarks.

"It is unacceptable that as a result of incidents typical in competitions, involving 12 teams, all on equal terms, unfounded accusations have been launched that lack the truth and question the integrity of the Copa América," reads the statement.

"These accusations represent a lack of respect for the competition, all the participating players and the hundreds of professionals of CONMEBOL."

Brazil will take on Peru in the final of the Copa América today.

Is Messi in the wrong about his corruption claims?

Let us know in the comments.

Featured Image Credit: RICH/PA

Adnan Riaz

Adnan Riaz is a journalist for SPORTbible. He studied for a B.A. in History at the University of York and followed it up with an M.A. in Multimedia Journalism at MMU. Before he started writing about sports, he spent over four years in the gaming press. He has worked for several publications, including Hardcore Gamer, LADbible and the Manchester Evening News. Follow him on Twitter to find out what he is working on next. Got a story tip for Adnan? Email him: [email protected]

Next Up

arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up camera clock comment cursor facebook-messenger facebook Instagram link new-window play share snapchat submit twitter vine whatsapp ODDSbible